Internship Update!

Hey everybody!!

Sorry I haven’t been posting in  while. I am at the end of my first real management rotation and I have been wrapping up a lot of projects!

Since I spent all of March focusing on giving you guys some nutrition information, I neglected writing about my internship experiences. Tomorrow is my last day at St. Francis Hospital in Monroe. I have actually really ended up liking management. It has given me “confidence” that if I got thrown into a management position, I could do it. I still don’t feel comfortable with firing people, but I know that I could do management. I love how every day is something different and you never know what is going to happen. I like problem solving and using my critical thinking skills. I may not be the most critical thinker, but I have loved discussing issues and problems with my preceptors.

During the past five weeks, I have done everything from sat in on interviews, firings, employee arguments/counseling sessions, developing a business plan for a salad bar, doing a cost analysis for a Coke Freestyle, doing some studies with the tray line and how fast they put trays together, ordering tube feedings, taking inventory, helping with shipment, analyzing the budget and developing a HACCP plan

 

And by the way, I love my preceptor right now. She has been really encouraging to me and I have gained great knowledge and advice from her. I am in awe of how accomplished she is, it almost intimidates me. But I have really enjoyed my time here. I will say I am looking forward to finishing up at Glenwood!

The rest of this week will be crazy. I will be in Lafayette for a nutrition conference for two days and then the next three days are dedicated to prepping for the RD exam. Safe to say my brain will be overloaded with information. Granted, it will be useful information, but my brain will be fried.

Really short post this time around, but I’ll have more for you soon.

XOXO, Danae

1 month and 10 days! It’s crunch time!

Leave a Reply

