Tales from Russia

Despite what you might have thought this post was going to be about due to the title, I have not made a impromptu trip to Russia, but I might as well have.

Since Valentine’s Day, I had been working at one of the local state run hospitals doing a pre-management rotation. I had a some time to kill, so my internship director gave me some time to get some exposure to what I would be doing in my two full management rotations. The first two days I was there, it was just myself and my preceptor, but after than my roommate Kelly joined me due to some ongoing complications with another facility. Kelly did clinical stuff and I was management. Let me tell you, it was great having someone to work with, because our preceptor is a little much for just one person to handle. As of December, she has been the only dietitian working so she is very stressed. She is also like 2nd generation Russian. She is quite a character. The first day I was at this hospital, I thought I was going to kill myself. She is very high strung, gets easily stressed out, her mind goes a thousand places at once and she talks like 120% of the time. I thought  I talked a mile a minute….she overshoots me by a lot. I have heard so many stories about Russia, its crazy. I also got to meet her mom, who speaks maybe 20 words in english, so trying to have a conversation with her was interesting in itself. She did try and attempt to teach me how to read Russian. Emphasis on tried. I’ll just stick to reading  english and spanish.

However, by the end of my time, things were actually quite pleasurable. I was able to get a lot of things done for her while knocking of several of my competencies. I think we finally eased her mind. I revamped the patient menus, I conducted an in-service to the staff about proper serving sizes while on tray line, I developed a post-gastrectomy, vegetarian and neutropenic diet for the facility, I helped cook some food for the cafeteria and did some product research.  So, I would say the last two weeks were successful.

In addition to all the stuff I did at this hospital, I have also started the job hunt. I am in the process of updating my resume and cover letter and once I get the A-Okay from the career center (who is reviewing my resumed), I can start sending my stuff out to companies. I am getting very excited for this next stage, and I have found some great facilities that I would be honored to work at!! Keep your fingers crossed.

So now I have a few days off in-between quarters before I start my final quarter as a dietetic intern!! It is crazy how fast time is flying. And with all of the things happening between now and graduation, I know it will be over in the blink of an eye.

Happy last day of February. Thank goodness for short months!!

XOXO, Danae

P.S. March is National Nutrition Month!! I hope to have some fun facts or recipes for you over the next month, so keep checking back!!

2 responses

    • Thanks! No, I am not planning on staying in Louisiana. There aren’t as many opportunities for dietitians here. I am looking at moving back up near Chicago, but I plan on moving to wherever I get a job! Thank you so much for the job tip!! I’ll definitely look into the hospitals in southern FL. Thanks for the blog follow! I hope you find my posts to a good read!

Leave a Reply

