Playing House

So, I spent this week working (and and living) in Shreveport. Shreveport is about a 90 minute drive west of Monroe. I wanted to spend some time working at a larger hospital and working with more critical care patients, like burns (which is what I originally came here for) and ICU patients. I worked at LSU Health, which is also a teaching hospital hooked up with Louisiana State University-Shreveport. And you know what teaching hospital means….cute med students!! I felt like I was in an episode of Grey’s Anatomy…except for all the hookin’ up in on-call rooms (at least, not that I saw..) I got to work with this awesome dietitian Karla who let me follow her around and work with some of her patients. She has the ICU floors (Neuro, Medical, Burn) as well as the surgical floors. Working at a Level 1 Trauma hospital, you get some pretty interesting cases. Below I have listed out some interesting things I ran into during my time.

1. A lady who was 5’5” and had a BMI of 136!!! For those of you who do not know the BMI equation, this means she was 816 pounds. We figuring it out. If you put the weights of the 4 dietitians plus myself and the other intern, Rhiannon, together on my body, it would be how much this lady weighed. We went to go and see her and it was truly pitiful. This lady couldn’t even move her head…This was the highest BMI I have ever seen.

2. A lady had schizophrenia, bipolar disorder and was pregnant. Enough said on that one.

3. I had a 20 year old female whose parents found her unconscious due to diabetic ketoacidosis. Upon ER admission, her glucose levels were over 1,000 mg/dL. (Normal is between 70 and 110).

4. A man got into an argument with his wife, so he drove his truck into the house and set all her stuff on fire, and himself in the process. He has 2nd degree burns on his body. At some point he thought this was a good idea. The po-po are coming to get him when he gets discharged.

5. High school girl who was at a bonfire when someone threw gasoline on the fire and it blew back into her. About 30% of her body is covered in 2nd degree burns and another 19% of her body has 3rd degree burns. She is the sweetest girl ever and was so brave amidst everything. It sucks when bad things happen to good people.

6.  Middle aged man (who has a history of PTSD and depression) wanted to burn his house down. He soaked a ball of clothes in gasoline. When he tried to light the clothes on fire, a fire ball shot out and burned about 34% of his body. He has 2nd and 3rd degree burns on his legs, buttocks, hands and arms.

Side note: For incidences #5 and #6, I got to watch these two patients at hydrotherapy, which is basically when they shower or get their burns washed. I got to dress up in the gown, face mask, gloves and hair cap. I could tell the young girl was in pain when getting washed down, but she was so brave. She was laughing as the nurses tried to keep her in good spirits. Seems like taking off the bandages is just as painful as getting the wounds washed. The older man was definitely a complainer and he was yelling and cussing up a storm. I am sure it is very painful but maybe next time don’t try and burn your house down with gasoline soaked clothes…It was interesting to see the comparison between the young girl and the older gentleman. 

With the young girl, I got to watch her work with the physical therapist. She got out of bed and walked down the hall and came back, all while smiling, laughing and chit-chatting. She is an incredible girl. She has come a long way, and I was there only 4 days!

7.  There was a schizophrenic who put garlic in her who-ha to keep away the witches. I wonder if that is bad for her lady parts.

8. A young girl had an abscess on her brain because they think oral herpes spread to her brain.

9. A 56 year old woman fell from her porch about 3 feet, and sadly was put on a ventilator and has become paralyzed.

10. A young gentleman who has been involved in crime and drugs was admitted due to a gunshot wound to the face. Apparently drugs were involved. His family was very demanding.

If this is all from 4 days of working, I can only imagine what other stuff these dietitians have seen. Karla has been here for almost 10 years, so she has seen some stuff. 

Shout out to Grey and Katelyn for letting me crash at their pad this week! I enjoyed playing house with them and being their pseudo third roommate while their other roommate is out of town. I loved not living in the ghetto and not having upstairs neighbors for 5 days.

Tomorrow I am going to New Orleans to celebrate Mardi Gras with my friends. This will be a s*** show. Details later.

XOXO, Danae

1 day until Mardi Gras in NOLA!

Leave a Reply

