Laissez les bons temps rouler

or “Let the Good Times Roll”

This phrase is a cajun saying often said around Mardi Gras time, which kicked off this weekend! It has been quite the eventful weekend so far.

First, Friday started off with my last day at the Dialysis center. I really enjoyed my time there and the dietitian I worked with was awesome! I learned a lot from her and am really sad I only go to spend 2 weeks there.

I also had to take a pre-RD exam. It was 100 questions modeled after sample RD exam questions. I did not have time to study for the exam due to competency stuff as well as school stuff. The test went well, but if I had studied, I felt like I would have known more. This test is not for a grade, for which I am thankful. I should get my psuedo-grade back soon!

Last night was the Krewe of Janus Mardi Gras Parade in Monroe-West Monroe. People were starting to camp out in the early afternoon with their campers and grills and RVs. There were a lot of rednecks. Kelly, Jon and I went to the parade at 6pm. We didn’t see any of the floats until about 7:45pm. Once the parade started, it was crazy. Beads were flying, kids were running into the street and yelling and music was blaring. The floats were really cool and all lit up. There were also local marching bands and dance teams. There were even some Confederate there shooting off their gun. Then the night ended with a robbery at Walmart with about 10 cop cars. We witnessed it all. The Monroe police were busy last night. Overall, we had a great time. I got over 40 strands of beads…and didn’t even have to flash anybody! haha Below are pictures…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And today of course is Super Bowl Sunday!! We are making tons of food and our friends from Shreveport and Alexandria are coming over to watch it with us! My roommate Kelly and I love entertaining and are having too much from cooking and getting ready for all of our friends to come over! Should be a fun time trying to squeeze everyone in into our tiny apartment.

After the party, I am driving over to Shreveport to spend 4 days at LSU Medical Center. I am excited for the switch-up!

XOXO, Danae

6 days until Mardi Gras in NOLA!

P.S. Have you checked out my recipe on College Lifestyles.com? Here’s the link –> http://collegelifestyles.org/2013/01/quick-easy-super-bowl-vegetarian-chili/

Also, changed my background. It isn’t the colors of Mardi Gras, but I though it looked New Orleans-ish.

5 responses

Leave a Reply

