SAG ya’ later…

Yup…you guessed it.

Here is another installment of fashion analysis by Danae.

As you may or may not have know, the SAG (Screen Actors Guild) Awards were this past Sunday and I watched them while I put together my poster board (See last blog post). I am just going show some of my favorites, honorable mentions, as well as those I didn’t like that much.

Jennifer Lawrence

This girl has awful luck with award shows. Both at the Golden Globes and the SAG awards, she was sick or getting over being sick. Plus, while accepting an award, the underlayer of her dress “ripped” and she was left in the sheer lining underneath. I though she looked beautiful though. Although I liked her at the Golden Globes, I am loving this dress a tad bit more. The blue dress really brings out her blue eyes.

Jennifer Lawrence in Christian Dior

Jennifer Lawrence in Christian Dior

Katrina Bowden

Don’t know what it is about it, but this dress caught my eye. I want it for myself! 30 Rock star Katrina Bowden looks fierece in this metallic  fit n’ flare gown. I love the shimmery and the flowy bottom. Very classic!

Katrina Bowden in Badgely Mischka

Katrina Bowden in Badgely Mischka

Giuliana Rancic

I love this girl. She is super cute and 99% of the time has great taste fashion. I thought she looked very pretty in her one-shoulder ruffled gown. Even though she was more there to interview the celebs on the red carpet, she worked it out as well.

Giuliana Rancic in Maz Azria Atelier

Giuliana Rancic in Maz Azria Atelier

Jessica Chastain

If you read my post regarding her style at the Golden Globes, you will know that I wasn’t quite feeling it. However, this time around, I think she nailed it. Even though she has red hair, I think the red dress fits her wonderfully. At can we talk about that necklace? 1.25 million dollar Harry Winston necklace!! I love diamonds just as much as the next girl, but even I wouldn’t trust myself with something that costs as much as a celebrity home.

Jessica Chastain in Alexander McQueen

Jessica Chastain in Alexander McQueen

Amanda Seyfried

This has to be one of my favorite dresses I saw on the red carpet. The “straight of the runway” dress is super fab, especially with the big ruffles at the bottom. It looked heavy though. Not quite sure how I feel about her dressing it down with the pendent. I would have done like a tiered diamond necklace or diamond pendent. And while the dress was picture perfect, Amanda seemed a little, odd. When I watched her do an interview with Giuliana Rancic, she sounded high or something…I wonder what was up?

Amanda Seyfried in Zac Posen

Amanda Seyfried in Zac Posen

Sofia Vergara

AKA My Spirit Animal. I have a girl crush on Sofia. I love her and I love her style. She definitely has a look, especially when it comes to award show fashion. I love her in this tight yet flowy white dress. Paired with a pair of diamond earrings and loose waves, I think she looks like a Latina superstar. I’m torn on her shoes though…not quite sure if I like ’em or hate ’em.

Sofia Vergara in Donna Karan Atelier

Sofia Vergara in Donna Karan Atelier

Nina Dobrev

I don’t know too much about this girl, probably because I don’t watch The Vampire Diaries, but I am loving this hot pink dress. And, girl, she is working it. She looks very sleek and slender in this number and I like the subtle sexiness with the slits around the waist.

Nina Dobrev in Elie Saab

Nina Dobrev in Elie Saab

Honorable Mentions: Amy Poehler, Helen Hunt, Jaimie Alexander,  Julie Bowen, Justin Timberlake, Jim Parsons, Viola Davis & Jennifer Garner.

Fashion Flops:

January Jones

Maybe its her hair, maybe its the dress. Whatever it is, I was not loving what Jones was dishing out. She did take a risk, however I think it is more of a fail.

January Jones in Prabal Gurung

January Jones in Prabal Gurung

Jayma Mays

I thought I liked this dress, but the more I look at it, I don’t really like it that much. Jayma Mays is so cute and she usually wears good stuff to award shows, but didn’t quite hit the nail on the head this time. I think the dress is cute, it just does not look amazing on her figure. It makes her look kind of boxy in the waist.

Jayma Mays in Georges Hobeika Atelier

Jayma Mays in Georges Hobeika Atelier

Overall, pretty good fashion at the SAG Awards. I am excited to see what celebs wear to the Oscars. While red was the color to wear at the Golden Globes, blue was the color to where at the SAG Awards. Lots of pretty cobalt and navy blue dresses.

XOXO, Danae

3 responses

  1. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your web site offered us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

  2. Its like you learn my thoughts! You appear to know a lot about this, such as you wrote the e book in it or something. I believe that you just could do with a few percent to power the message home a bit, however other than that, that is great blog. A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

  3. Pingback: And the Oscar Goes To….. | adventuresintheotherla

Leave a Reply

