Just another kick in the kidneys..

Wow!! I have been meaning to write this post since last Thursday, but I am just NOW getting the time to write it out. I have been keeping a list of things to write. I’ll be honest, it is a long list. But I will get through it as briefly and less boringly as possible.

This last Tuesday I started at Fresenius Medical Care Dialysis Center. I did not think I was going to hate dialysis (apart from the blood. I knew I was going to hate that), but I did not think I was going to like it has much as I do. Yes, Renal is very complex, but I love the RD that I am with and I love that she is always doing different things. She never does the same thing everyday. Because these patient are hooked up to machines 3 days a week for 4 hours a time, the RD needs to be creative with education and information. You can not just do handouts all the time. That gets annoying…and who needs all that paper!

I have been doing several things this week. The first thing is working on an event called Protein Day! High protein is important for those on dialysis. We encourage our patients to use the Isolate Whey Protein Powder to help increase protein intake. We made the patients different items that they can make with the protein power. We made two protein shakes: 1 with Almond Milk and the protein powder, and another one with raspberry sherbet, sugar-free Sprite and protein powder. We also made “ice cream sandwiches” which is Cool Whip mixed with protein powder, smushed between two graham crackers. The patients really enjoy these! I also put together goodie bags which include a scoopful of the protein powder, a high protein cookie, a Zone bar and a recipe card with three recipes. We executed our protein day today for the MWF patients, and on Thursday we will do it again for our TRS patients.

My second project has been putting together bulletin boards. I made a bulletin board related to a contest that is going on at the dialysis center, a bulletin board about heart disease and dialysis for a dialysis center in Columbia and a bulletin discussing New Years Resolutions for patients and employees.

Bulletin Board about Heart Disease

Bulletin Board about Heart Disease

My last project, which was my main 4 day project was a “Shop Smart” bulletin board for education patients on foods that they CAN have while being on a renal diet/dialysis. I spent 4-5 hours walking around Wal-Mart looking at food labels and finding new food ideas for patients. Then I put together a tri-fold post organized into different areas of the grocery store. I also looked at prices and levels of phosphorus, sodium and potassium. It was quite the event, but I was really pleased with how the poster turned out…and so was my preceptor.

Shop Smart Angle 1

Shop Smart Angle 1

Shop Smart Angle 2

Shop Smart Angle 2

Whew…

Today I worked on putting together monthly educational materials and recipes for the next year.

XOXO, Danae

12 days until Mardi Gras in NOLA!

P.S. With 3 months and 19 days left of this internship (but I am not counting…), I am definitely looking forward to going back home. I saw this video the other day and it really made me miss the Chi.

I am not wishing away my internship, but I will be excited when I can graduate from this program and start working!

6 responses

  1. Pingback: SAG ya’ later… « adventuresintheotherla

Leave a Reply

