I ‘mustache’ you a question. Or shall I ‘shave’ it for later?

A lot of things happened this past week. The city of Monroe practically shut down due to “inclement weather“. University of Louisiana-Monroe closed for 2 days and Louisiana Tech closed down for 1 day. They were expected this huge ice storm, but all it did was rain.

My car’s engine light came on, so I had the wonderful joy of fitting taking my car into the Toyota dealer to have it operated on. Luckily, they had a courtesy car drive me and pick me up from work.

I have finally completed my last clinical rotation. On Wednesday I presented my clinical case study on Acute Myeloid Leukemia. AML is a type of leukemia that is fairly severe and is caused by a mutation in the white blood cells and develops mainly in the bone marrow. On Thursday I finished up my last day of my 2 week floor supervision. And Thursday was probably the easiest, funnest day I have had at St. Francis. In total, I got a total of 3 patients that I had to see. 2 of them had to be educated and one was just a follow up. The first education was easy, the follow up was easy, and the other patient I had to educate was at the in-hospital dialysis center. Around 11:15 am,  the three younger dietitians  Hannah, Jessica and Sarah took me out for my intern lunch. We went to Raw Sushi in Monroe. For 4 girls, we had hella food at the table. We each ordered an entree and a roll of sushi. Then we decided to get Orange Leaf, which is a popular (especially among the Monroe dietitians) frozen yogurt shop. I really enjoyed hanging out with the girls, laughing, talking wedding planning (Sarah just got engaged and is planning her August wedding), jamming in the car to the XM radio and embracing our young-ness! We took WAY longer than our allotted time for lunch. We didn’t get back to the office until 12:45 pm. WHOOPS! I tried one last time to educated my dialysis patient, but he was still gone. Then the dietitians went over my final evaluation with me. I got mostly fours (which is the best you can get)! And then I went home around 1:30 pm. Easiest day of work ever!

Friday we had class in Ruston. Good to see everyone since I haven’t seen them since we got back from Thanksgiving. Everyone loved my new haircut and thought I looked older. I appreciated the positive feedback! We had a short presentation on NG Tube placement by a nursing professor at Tech. The NG tube goes through the persons nose and exits into the stomach. It can be used to decompress the stomach, suction the stomach or short-term nutritional feedings.  This was our assistant…

He looks a little TOO happy to be getting an NG Tube.

He looks a little TOO happy to be getting an NG Tube.

After Ruston, our fellow intern and Alexandria resident, Chrystal came to stay at our humble abode in Monroe. Chrystal went to a Mardi Gras ball on Saturday and was looking for a dress. Kelly, Chrystal and I decided to make a fun time of it. We grabbed Starbucks, went to three dress shops in Monroe, went to Sam’s Club because Kelly’s car had a deflated tire, went to the mall and tried on Mardi Gras masks and did other shennanigans (like get mustaches..)

I mustache you, do Chrystal and I look good??

I mustache you, do Chrystal and I look good??

After the mall, Jon met the three of us at Olive Garden for wine samples and dinner!! Then we went back to the apartment, cracked open a bottle of wine and watched the movie “The Wild and Wonderful Whites of West Virginia“. This family makes Honey Boo Boo‘s family look normal. Kelly and Chrystal had already seen it, so I was the only newbie. We decided to make it into a drinking game…it’s that bad. If you have Netflix, hop on there and watch it…They are as redneck as redneck gets.

In the morning, I went to my cardio kickboxing class and then watched Clueless as I did Chrystal’s hair for her Mardi Gras ball. Apparently I am know as the “Hair Master” around here, so Chrystal didn’t want anyone doing her hair but me. haha We did an Audrey Hepburn inspired hairstyle. I have to say…I did a pretty good job. I am sure Chrystal rocked he do at the ball that night.

The rest of the night was pretty laid back. I have tomorrow off due to MLK Jr. Day, but I start at the Dialysis Center on Tuesday. Looking forward to a different atmosphere.

Hope everybody is doing well. Hang in there….January is almost over!!

Less than 4 months until my internship is complete!

XOXO, Danae

20 days until Mardi Gras in NOLA!

One response

Leave a Reply

