Does Someone Need a Hug??

Well, I have just finished my first week of floor supervision at St. Francis. I am so glad to be on my own. Don’t get me wrong, I like the dietitians that I work with, but I was ready to get into my own groove and not work with people over my shoulder. But they still have to sign of on my chart notes, but that I can handle. Just can’t wait until I get to be the one in charge, writing notes like no body’s business.

The hospital has been fairly busy, what with the huge flu/influenza A breakout. There are so many patients that are under precautions. I have to either where glove, a gown and gloves, a gown and face mask, or all of the above. In addition to the flu theme, this week’s theme is old people. You got it…old people.

I love old people. They have so much to tell and enjoy it when you stop and say hello. I had several patients that were over the age of 70 this week. Many of them were very friendly. I had this one old man who was so cute, I just wanted to hug him. He was just crackin’ jokes left and right. But I went from someone like him to this 97 year old woman who is essentially dying. She just lays in this bed all by herself. Her breathing is labored, she can barely talk and can’t hold her head up without shaking. It just breaks my heart. I know I can’t cure any of their diseases, but I try to be pleasant with them and make sure they have a great day.

I also had some other things going on during the week. I was asked to give a talk on healthy eating to the Pilot Club of the Twin Cities, a service oriented club that is run by women. They are most known for organizing the Taste of the Twin Cities and the Fleur de Lis, Miss Heart of Pilot and Miss Taste of the Twin Cities pageants. I talked to the 20 women about the importance of healthy eating and what to look for at the grocery store. I don’t mind public speaking, but it is when I can’t read the crowd that I get nervous. I even tried making a few jokes. They laughed, but they all looked so serious, I couldn’t tell if they liked me. But after my talk, they did give me a little gift, so it was much appreciated. It was good experience. After my talk, I stayed for the meeting. It was interesting to hear what they were planning, but when you get 20 southern women in a room, GIRLLLLL, they never stay on topic  everyone is talking over each other and they are loud. I am a woman, and I was starting to go crazy listening to everyone…

Last, on Saturday I drove over to Ruston to help with a grant project called Youth4Health, in hopes to correct childhood obesity and get families to eat more meals together. We had families come in to get weight, measured and nutritionally interviewed. I was in charge of measuring their height and then helped the younger kids fill out surveys, they were way to extensive for them in my option. Information covered included attitudes toward food, their self,  eating habits and environments and family medical history and family social issues. We also did a 24-hour recall with all the kids. I really loved working with the kids. I was amazed by how open the kids were with me. Some questions talked about how they felt their parents felt about them and how they feel about themselves and how others treat them.

So ready for this next week to be done and completed. All I have left is my final case study presentation and my final evaluation, then 3 day weekend (Thx MLK, Jr.)!! So ready.

XOXO, Danae

P.S. On Thursday, it will be 4 months until I am done with my internship! It will go by so fast!

Leave a Reply

