Do you Hear what I Hear?

So, fellow Word Press blogger, rarasaur, posted this questionnaire on her blog focused around writing and blogging and thought I would answer the same questions. The questionnaire originated on the blog: Trifecta for their Friday-Check in.

What is your name (real or otherwise)?

My name is Danae (pronounced Duh-Nay), but people have also called me, but not limited to, Dana, Danny, Deanna, Daniel (yes, Daniel), Dina and Dan-I (And these are just the pronunciations…I didn’t even talk about the spelling variations)

Describe your writing style in three words.

Informative. Informal. Reflective.

How long have you been writing online?

This blog has been going since July of 2012, but before this I wrote for the online ‘zine, The Examiner. I was the the Chicago Sushi Restaurant Examiner, reviewing and discussing new and existing sushi restaurants in the greater Chicago area. I started doing that in 2010 until 2012.

Which, if any, other writing challenges do you participate in?

I am participating in this challenge, and then I did a challenge through The Daily Post, in which I talked about songs that related to my life. Read it here —> Mix Tape Challenge

 Describe one way in which you could improve your writing.

I think writing about life lessons or things that I have learned from my experiences is something that I need to add into my blogs. I think I should write more about things that happen to me and how I can learn from it.

What is the best writing advice you’ve ever been given?

I haven’t really received writing advice, unless you could critiques on research proposals and term papers “advice”. But I think something good to keep in mind is “Write what you know“, then the ideas will flow. (Look at me being a poet and not knowing it!)

Who is your favorite author?

One of my favorite authors is Karen Kingsbury, a Christian author. I really enjoy her books and really related to the characters. I feel like there is always a character who is in a situation that is similar to something I am going through. I also enjoy good murder mystery novels, like those written by Mary Higgins Clark and Nora Roberts. I also enjoy a good Nicholas Sparks book.

How do you make time to write?

I make time to write by putting it into my schedule. My goal is to write at least once a week, just to get my thoughts on the page. If I don’t make it a part of my weekly routine, I know that this will get put on the back burner. School work, internship work and blogging and three of my priorities.

Give us one word that could be used as a prompt. Remember- it must have a third definition.

Passion (noun) (According to Websters)

often capitalized

     a : the sufferings of Christ between the night of the Last Supper and his death

     b : an oratorio based on a gospel narrative of the Passion

obsolete : suffering
: the state or capacity of being acted on by external agents or forces
(1) : emotion <his ruling passion is greed> (2) plural : the emotions as distinguished from reason

     b : intense, driving, or overmastering feeling or conviction

     c : an outbreak of anger

a : ardent affection : love

    b : a strong liking or desire for or devotion to some activity, object, or concept

    c : sexual desire

   d : an object of desire or deep interest

Direct us to one blog post of yours that we shouldn’t miss reading. 

I hate saying is, but I think one of my favorite posts is “O Emmanuel“, about the Newtown, CT shooting. I just think it has a good message and I think it is well written.

XOXO, Danae

8 responses

  1. When I first saw this title Do you Hear what I Hear? adventuresintheotherla on google I just whent and bookmark it. Good day. Very cool blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally…I’m happy to find numerous helpful information right here in the article. Thanks for sharing…

  2. This is the punish Do you Hear what I Hear? adventuresintheotherla diary for anyone who wants to act out out around this content. You notice so more its most wearying to fence with you (not that I truly would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new prolong on a theme thats been inscribed about for geezerhood. City lug, but zealous!

Leave a Reply

