I’ll be Home for Christmas

Welp, the year is coming to an end…literally, but not. Today, 12.21.12 was the supposed “end of the world” as predicted by the Mayans and their calendar. And as expected, the world did NOT end and I still had to go to work. Bummer…

But, good thing it didn’t end, because now I can go HOME FOR CHRISTMAS! After the start to this new quarter, I have been counting down the days until Christmas Break…especially after this week. Things have been crazy with school and work, so I am looking forward to some downtime with my family and friends! I fly out this Sunday afternoon and I will hit the ground running with family Christmases and holiday traveling.

Internship-wise, I have been rotating around with the dietitians. It is good to see how different dietitians work and I enjoy seeing a variety of patients. However, at this point, I am so excited to be on my own. After talking with my DI director, I managed to get my 2 weeks of floor supervision rather than the week that the dietitians originally gave me. Thank goodness.

Graduate school-wise, this financial management course is not how I thought it would be at all. Luckily, in college I took both financial accounting and food systems management, so this is not my first time around with this type of information. Everything is coming back to me, but slowly. My one frustration: my professor assigns homework but then how to do the problems is not discussed in the powerpoints nor in the book. I spent legit 3 DAYS working on  one problem. After several emails from me, and probably other classmates, the professor sent an email with instructions on how to do the problems. It then took me 20 minutes. If I had those instructions at the start, I would have saved so much time and frustration.  I can do the problems fine, just gimme a little guidance. Other then that, the class isn’t half bad.

I just hope that everyone has a safe and happy Christmas holiday. So many people have showed up at the hospital. I just hope they are all able to get discharged this weekend so they do not have to spend the holidays in a hospital– because that isn’t fun for anybody. Merry Christmas!

XOXO, Danae

P.S. My roommate, Kelly, wrote a  recipe article for College Lifestyles Magazine. Brownies in a Jar!! An easy and inexpensive gift for the bakers in your life, or someone who likes desserts!!

days until I’ll be home for Christmas {Break}!

Leave a Reply

