Food Post; Following the Stereotype

Here it is. My first food post. You aren’t a dietitian until you have taken a picture of something you have eaten. And as my family will agree, I have been known to take a few photos of my food back in my day 🙂

Halloween is one of those holidays where it is just a good day to have chili. One of my best friends Jeanine and I share the tradition of eating chili on Halloween. In high school, her mom would make chili and noodles and we would eat it. So, I decided that I would make a different version of chili. I decided to make a VEGETARIAN chili. Instead of following one recipe, I combined ingredients from several recipes but I mainly just chose stuff that I liked. It is a hod-podge of ingredients.

Let’s see how this turned out…

Danae’s “Make-it-up-as-you-go” Vegetarian Chili

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 can (14.5 oz) stewed tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 can (15.5 oz) of corn, drained (I tried to find fire-roasted corn, but I could not, so I just have regular corn)
  • 1 can (15 oz) each of dark kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  •  1 can (15.5 oz) Light kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can (15.8 oz) great northern beans, drained and rinsed*
  • 2 (8 oz each) cans tomato sauce
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Chili Powder

*Feel free to use whatever beans you want, like black beans, pinto beans…I just like these bean types.

Procedure:

  1. Get out a big, deep pot. You could also use a crock pot.
  2. Open up all the cans of all the ingredients. Also, get a strainer.
  3. Drain and rinse the beans. Dump into pot.
  4. Drain corn. Dump into pot.
  5. Dump both cans of tomatoes into pot.
  6. Stir together, then dump in both cans of tomato sauce (if your chili looks watery, only use one can of sauce).
  7. Add in chili powder. Stir together.
  8. Let simmer on stove until heated through.

Smells Delish!

I also skipped the noodles and did cornbread. Cornbread is the Louisiana way to go.

Idiot Proof Cornbread

  1. Buy a box of Jiffy cornbread mix.
  2. Prepare as directed on box.

Finished Product. Golden brown and cheesy

Put them both together and you got a great cozy meal. Top the chili off with your other favorite toppings, like chives, sour cream, shredded cheese, oyster crackers etc. I topped mine with cheese and some basil.

Yum Yum in a Bowl!

This dish actually turned out surprisingly well for just throwing stuff in a pot. I mixed some cheese in with my cornbread mix when I baked it, making it cheese! SOO GOOD! And one suggestion: if you like your chili thicker, use one less can of tomato sauce. I usually like it thicker, but I actually liked the consistency of this.

Make this sometime!!

Thumbs Up!

What are you doing for Halloween?? I was Honey Boo Boo for Halloween. What are you dressing up as? Comment Below!

XOXO, Danae

19 Days Until Home!!

One response

  1. Pingback: Dietetic Intern turned Published Author?? « adventuresintheotherla

Leave a Reply

