Fall Community Rotation Part 1 of 3: Completed!

Hello!

Today was my last day working at Womens  Infants and Childrens (WIC) for my public health rotation. Coming into the rotation I was not super thrilled. Now, Public health is an interest of mine, but because of my previous experience at WIC during college, I knew it was going to be a lot of down time. Believe it or not, some people do not show up for their appointments! However, I did enjoy myself. The dietitian(s) I worked with were really nice, and even the other staff members that I interacted with were really nice.

What amazed me the most is how people can so easily work the system. People would try and find ways to manipulate the WIC program. They felt entitled to their vouchers and would get very worked up about things that did not matter. It was never quiet at WIC either. There was always screaming kids, coughing kids and yelling kids (and parents).  Then, people come in for WIC vouchers, yet they have weaves, perfectly done manicures and pedicures, iphones, ipads and drive an Escalade with rims. Really??!! Okay. Then they have like 5 kids. This is my opinion, take it or leave it: If you can’t afford kids, do not have them. I know that you are never truly financially stable to have children because kids take A LOT of money, but be smart. Birth control is cheaper than raising a kid for 18 years. Just sayin’…..

Some people truly do belong on WIC and it really is beneficial for them, and I can appreciate that. Some people have really crazy stories and are going through some pretty crazy things. My heart goes out to those individuals.

So, WIC is over with and now I am off to a private practice dietitian and a bariatric surgery dietitian. Looking forward to hanging out with them this week. Hope everyone has a great weekend. It is gunna be a “chilly” weekend in Monroe.

XOXO, Danae

22 days until home!

One response

Leave a Reply

