And so it begins…

Wow, I can not believe July 6th has arrived already.

I remember freshman year at Olivet and hearing Dr. Anstrom (then Professor Anstrom) talk about the dietetic internship. After all the drama, the tears and the successes, I have finally starting my final step en route to becoming a full fledged registered dietitian (R.D.).

For those of you who are unfamiliar with the whole dietetic process, after completing my four year undergraduate degree, I have to complete a year long internship before I sit for our equivalent of a board exam. After I pass the test, I become an R.D. The internship is a time where we, as interns, get to experience all different aspects of dietetics and learn under the wings of professional dietitians. All internships are a little bit different, but roughly you experience the same aspects. I am also completing 15 graduate credits towards a master’s degree.

I am completing my internship at Louisiana Tech University. I never thought I would end up here, but I am embracing it as a new experience. Originally being from Chicago, Louisiana is something completing different. People dance to a different drummer down here.

So, overview of my life leading up to now. My parents, my brother Connor and I packed up my Toyota Camry and my parents Nissan Pathfinder and drove to Lake of the Ozarks for a family reunion with my family before driving down to Louisiana. Quarters were close in the car.

Trunk of my Camry

Inside the Car.

I moved into Aswell Dorm with other girl interns. My roommates are Katelyn (from TX) and Gwen (from OH).

My new home for the next 6 weeks!

And I experienced Louisiana Cuisine.

Courtesy of Portico: Shrimp Etoufee, Asparagus and Sangria 🙂

My first day of class starts tomorrow!! So, this blog is to help keep me sane as I begin this next chapter in my life. It is also to keep family and friends involved in what I am doing, as well as post pictures. Keep reading!

X0X0 Danae

11 responses

  1. Pingback: 6 Months of Blogging! « adventuresintheotherla

  2. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you so much, However I am encountering problems with your RSS.
    I don’t know the reason why I am unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody having identical RSS issues? Anyone that knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

    • I have no idea what the issue is! I am not technical at all. But if you want to leave me your email address, I can add you to the email list, or you can try hitting the follow button at the top of the screen. Thanks for the interest in my blog!! I am so happy that people are reading and liking what I have to say!

    • Thanks! I am not the person to talk to about compatibility issues. I am sorry some of your readers have trouble reading your blog. All I know is that people read my blog on IE, Firefox and Chrome and have not run into any issues.

      By the way, I looked at your website! You have beautiful cakes!!! You are very talented!

  3. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an
    e-mail. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

Leave a Reply

